There are nearly 300 species of liverwort in Britain. They can be divided into leafy liverworts with a stem and leaves and thallose liverworts with no distinct stem or leaves.

Leafy liverworts nearly all belong to the order Jungermanniales. Thallose liverworts belong to one of two orders: Metzgeriales and Marchantiales.

thallose liverworts leafy liverworts
Copyright: Steve Terry
Conocephalum conicum
Copyright: Steve Terry
Pleurozia purpurea

Useful links: British Bryological Society